The Southlands Joins the Internets

I’m Jonathan Biles. I love sports. Sportsy, sports, sports. I watch many things other than sports. This is a site where I will talk about sports and those aforementioned other things. My objective for this site is to write and write a lot, provide some commentary or analysis that maybe you didn’t know you needed (Kind of like SkyMall magazine), and make bad jokes. A place for fans to yell and scream, as well as tell me to “stick to sports,” that is an uncluttered, streamlined way to talk and read about things you may enjoy.

I was born in Los Angeles, raised in Birmingham, AL and am back in Los Angeles. Also, about the name “The Southlands,” I’m from LA (commonly known as the Southland) and grew up in the South in Birmingham. There you go.

I’m a journalism student at Pasadena City College and I plan on attending the last bastion of the incompetent rich, USC.  I write for the PCC Courier and have contributed to TouchdownLA. Does Bleacher Report count as a clip if a 5-year-old girl can write for them?

I plan to recruit some of my more eloquently-inclined writer-y friends into the fold in the near future but until then, it’s just me. On twitter, @Jonathan_Biles.

I have many sports allegiances but that doesn’t cloud my judgment or analysis – if anything, I’m more negative about teams I actually like. If a team of mine goes down by 2, the pessimism creeps in.

Here are other things that I enjoy:

And I always wear a tux after 6 p.m. What am I, a farmer? 

Stay tuned.

Also, for my take on all things, be sure to follow me on Twitter, @Jonathan_Biles.

Leave a Reply

