A Week in Links: February 17

If you haven’t seen ESPN in the last week, or have been living under some proverbial sports rock, I’d like to inform you that today is Michael Jordan’s 50th birthday. I was too young to grasp Jordan at his peak and I moved to Birmingham after he left the Barons, so a piece by me about Michael wouldn’t do the “greatest of all time” justice.

Instead, here are two pieces on MJ: a profile about the man Michael is now and one told from the eyes of one of his victims.

It’s not about MJ, but Grantland’s Zach Lowe did a very interesting Q&A session with Dirk Nowitzki.

Switching gears from the NBA, Golf Digest did a great profile on one of my favorite golf broadcasters – the incomparable David Feherty. Golf Digest goes inside Feherty’s head and the process of his talk show, Feherty.

Golf World:
David, if you could change one rule in golf, what would it be?

Feherty: 
You should be allowed to tackle your opponent.”

I couldn’t get away with a link list this week without including a “Harlem Shake” video. My favorite is from Late Night with Jimmy Fallon.

And finally, Fall Out Boy is back from their hiatus with a new single – a single at which their old fans will scream, “SELL OUTS.” The new song has a stereotypical FOB title, “My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark (Light ‘Em Up).” I swear Fall Out Boy just does this to screw with your iTunes. Here’s the video that has no actual members of the band in it. It’s just 2 Chainz and a couple of models setting things on fire.

Every Sunday, I plan to post a few links to pieces I’ve read, videos I’ve seen, songs I’ve heard, etc.

Also, for my take on all things, be sure to follow me on Twitter, @Jonathan_Biles.

Leave a Reply

