A Week In Links

For a while, I wrote a weekly Sunday post called “A Week in Links.” I haven’t posted that in a while because I’m lazy, the articles were better left alone instead of me summarizing them, and mostly I’m lazy. But in the same vein as the Big Lead’s Roundup (without the girls, sorry) and Ed Sherman’s links posting, I will begin to advertise the articles and things that I found the most interesting from the previous six days. I may also have a different name for this list every week. Stay tuned.

The MMQB is producing so far: Here’s Peter King on Colin Kaepernick not caring what you think of his tattoos.

And here is Jenny Vrentas with a great profile on how Chip Kelly is turning Philadelphia’s “camp into a performance laboratory.” 

Lifehacker interviewed ESPN’s fantasy analyst and bestselling author Matthew Berry about how he works,  what apps he uses and how he does his best writing.

This isn’t necessarily from the past six days but as I’ve noted in previous columns, I am a fan of both Texas Tech head football coach Kliff Kingsbury and Grantland writer Holly Anderson, so a piece in which Anderson interviews Kingsbury has me written all over it.

There is a new targeting rule in college football. Sports Illustrated’s Andy Staples explains it much better than I ever could. 

As I wrote in this week’s Media Column, ESPN is hosting a cavalcade of college football coaches to Bristol over the next few weeks. LSU’s Les Miles was there on Monday. He tasted the grass. 

Sports Illustrated Campus Union’s Martin Rickman went to MAC Media Days. He talked to Terry Bowden about finding the next Nick Saban. 

In the wake of Ryan Braun’s steroid suspension, Deadspin’s Tim Marchman compiled a morsel of the anger felt by sports columnists and described the hotness of their #HotSportsTakes. 

And finally, Grantland profiled the Compton Cricket Club for their YouTube channel. The club in South Central Los Angeles was “a salvation for a lot of kids who thought the only way they had to go was join a gang.” I’m glad someone understands cricket. It’s probably the only major international sport that I just can’t wrap my head around. Great work here.

Leave a Reply

